Giving Tree Awards, a History of Giving

Each year, the staff at the Midland Area Community Foundation selects the Giving Tree Award Recipients from our community of diligent and inspiring volunteers. While these volunteers give without expecting to receive, the staff wanted to honor individuals for their services – thus, the “Giving Tree” award was established. In addition to honoring individuals with words of affirmation and some small tokens of appreciation, each recommend a $500 grant to a nonprofit of their choice or to a specific fund of their choosing at the Midland Area Community Foundation. The award is presented at the Foundation's annual meeting each spring. This year, three recipients were selected; Frank Gerace, Ginny Morrison and Reverend Wally Mayton.

Frank’s dedication to the Foundation, and to this community, is legendary. He served on the board from 1983 through 1991.  His investment of time and leadership has been a real benefit to all of his successors.  Not only has Frank dedicated his time and effort to governance of our community foundation, he has dedicated his treasure by creating a donor-advised fund to benefit this community forever.  Frank also has worked hard to help build our community.  His company, Gerace Construction was the contractor that built the Tridge 29 years ago.  In 1985, Frank’s company built the current Santa House.  Frank Gerace has given to our community through his plenty for years.

Ginny Morrison is a long-time friend of the foundation.  She served on the Foundations board from 1987 – 1995 and spent many years serving on the executive committee.  She established the Ira George and Virginia Z. Morrison Scholarship Fund and has volunteered as a committee member faithfully for years.  Ginny’s long-standing dedication to the Foundation is truly valued recognized.

Reverend Wally Mayton has repeatedly assisted the Foundation in its efforts to connect with our local spiritual community as well as volunteering time to help with a variety of Foundation projects.  He serves on the cultural awareness committee.  His leadership with other members of the committee has helped Midland broaden its cultural experiences and embrace diversity, helping to create a vibrant and compassionate community.  Wally recently assisted in helping to form and implement the Foundation’s Community Needs Survey.  Wally’s friendly and inclusive presence in our community was a perfect conduit to help get the survey out to the public.

The past Giving Tree Award Recipients from previous years are listed below.

Cathy Alexander, Dave Goodman, Bob Johns

Mildred Putnam, Paul Pounders

Jim Brooks, Dr. Linneaus Dorman

Robert Burditt, Jan Reynolds, Joyce Swartzmiller

Dick Touvell, Jim Malek

Lynn Weimer, Marty McGuire


Jason Beck, Bill Mick, Dan Prybyski


Wally Mayton, Frank Gerace, Ginny Morrison