Open Scholarships

Nancy and Parke Brown Scholarship ($1,500)

Encourages higher education by offering scholarships to graduating high school seniors, current college students or transferring Lawrence Tech University students.

Gerhard and Ruth Gettel Scholarship Fund ($1,000)

Provides an annual scholarship to a student graduating from a Midland County high school in the year of the award.

Elena Oreffice Memorial Scholarship Fund ($1,500)

The Elena Oreffice Memorial Scholarship is an annual nonrenewable award to the graduate of a Midland County high school. The successful applicant must have achieved a B average, and must provide evidence of motivation sufficient to complete a college course of study. The essay for this scholarship should describe the impact of free enterprise to the world and to you.

Jane Catherine Rubens Memorial Scholarship Fund ($1,000)

Provides an annual scholarship award to a Midland County resident.

Judge James E. "Pinky" Wilson Endowed Scholarship Fund ($2,000)

Provides an annual scholarship award to graduates of Midland County high schools (public or private/parochial) or those who have been Midland County residents for at least a year.  It is intended to assist students in pursuit of a Baccalaureate degree.  Successful applicants will be those most likely to share and act upon Judge Wilson's philosophy that we should "expand the bridge of opportunity" for others, and to "reach back to help those less fortunate to make the same journey."

Ernest R. and Martha E. Britton Memorial Fund ($2,500)

Provides up to two one-time awards of $2,500 for graduating seniors from a Midland County public high school.  Financial need may be considered when all other factors are equal.  The applicants must demonstrate leadership in service projects through school, scouting, church, etc., and participation in activities such as band, cheerleading, pom pom, Pep Club, etc.

Donna "Teach" Comfort Scholarship Fund ($7,500)

Provides an annual scholarship award to a Gladwin County resident to attend an accredited program - college or university, or long- or short-term vocational training program.  The recipient would have graduated from high school or obtained the GED prior to using this scholarship.  Recipients may reapply in one subsequent year provided they demonstrate at least a 3.0 GPA and absences of three days or less.