Annual Meeting

Slate of Incoming Trustees

Deborah (Debbie) Stephens spent her career with Dow Chemical and is the immediate past President of Dow Chemical Canada.  She led Dow’s business and governance across Canada – leading key business portfolios, identifying and accelerating new opportunities for business growth in the region, and developing workforce talent. Debbie also played an instrumental role in representing Dow’s interests to key stakeholders, including customers, suppliers, joint venture partners, employees, and government.

While President, Debbie was a member of Dow’s Global Leadership Team.  She was Chair of the Board of the Chemistry Industry Association of Canada.  She was a member of the Business Council of Canada and a Trustee on the Board of the Calgary Zoo.  She is a Director and former Vice President of the Board of the Letterwinners M Club; University of Michigan’s Alumni Association of Student-Athletes.  She is a member of the Grants Committee of the Midland Area Community Foundation.  She is a member of the International Women’s Forum and former member of Zonta International.  Debbie was honored with the prestigious 2016 Northwood University Distinguished Women’s Award and is a 2017 inductee into the Ann Arbor Pioneer High School Athletics Hall of Fame.

Debbie earned a Bachelor of Science degree in Industrial and Operations Engineering from the University of Michigan.  While at U of M, she was also a four-year varsity Letterwinner in softball and member of Alpha Delta Pi sorority.  After retiring from Dow Chemical, she relocated from Calgary, Alberta, Canada to Midland, MI, where she currently resides.

Valeriah (Ann) Holmon is a retired Nurse Practitioner who has over 34 years of nursing experience. In her early career she worked as a Registered Nurse (RN) in inpatient and outpatient settings including orthopedics, neurology, and surgical nursing. Before retiring in 2020, she worked as a certified Pain Management Nurse Practitioner for 11 years. In addition, Valeriah is currently an adjunct faculty instructor at Saginaw Valley State University in the Department of Nursing. Since 2008 she has worked with bachelor and master level nursing students in both didactic and clinical settings as well as served as faculty mentor to freshman students.

Valeriah has served on the Blue Care Network health insurance Board of Directors since 2002. She has additional experiences relating to health and patient care advocacy working with the March of Dimes and maintaining active professional memberships in the Association of Pain Management Nurses (APMN), and the Michigan Council of Nurse Practitioners (MICNP). Her certifications include Pain Management Nursing, Advanced Cardiac Life Support (ACLS) & Basic Life Support (BLS).

Valeriah is a graduate of the University of MI-Flint with a Doctor of Nursing Practice (DNP), Saginaw Valley State University with a Master of Science in Nursing (MSN)- Family Nurse Practitioner, a Post Masters Certificate in Education, and Alcorn State University with a Bachelor of Science in Nursing (BSN) degree. She is married to her husband Perry Holmon, and they have three children and four grandchildren.

Richard (Dick) Peterson

Richard (Dick) Peterson is a City of Midland resident.  Born and raised in Midland, the Petersons are one of Midland’s founding families.  Dick is a self-described “townee.”

Dick holds a finance degree, is a State of Michigan certified general real estate appraiser and holds an SRA accreditation from the Appraisal Institute. Dick’s understanding of the real estate industry and housing-related issues are strengths he brings to the Midland Area Community Foundation board of trustees.

Growing up in a working family, Dick was raised to understand need.  He believes that giving back is an important part of life. Dick’s volunteer work includes being a life member of the Midland Jaycees, past member of Midland County Habitat for Humanity board, past president of the North Midland Family Center board, past board president and current volunteer for the Home to Stay Housing Assistance Center, current vice-president of the facilities board for Central Michigan Community Mental Health,  active member with varied committee involvement at Trinity Lutheran Church, past committee chair of the Midland Board of Realtors, past board member and current volunteer for the Midland Home Builders Association.

Slate of Trustees for Re-Election

Bill Garchow

Jeff Hert

Jenni Wendt

2022-2023 Slate of Officers

Jeff Hert – Chair

Katie Horning – Vice Chair

Lou Mencia – Treasurer

Michael Rogers – Secretary

Dave Marsh – Past Chair

List of 2022-2023 Trustees

Rod Coleman

Bill Garchow

Jeff Hert

Ann Holmon

Katie Horning

Jon Lynch

Dave Marsh

Lou Mencia

Carol Miller

Dick Peterson

Gerri Reado

Michael Rogers

Debbie Stephens

Mike Weideman

Jenni Wendt